Georgians \’76

Blog of the Class of \’76, St. George\’s Taiping

One more time…with feeling

Posted by unspun on December 11, 2006

Sorry guys but in the previous posting thanking everyone for the great time we had on Saturday, I accidentally locked the comments section. The result has been a lot of cross posting.

I blame it on the lingering hangover from Saturday (but it seems like I was not the only one: Kah Thiam could not wake up to meet us at Ah Lan Chiea’s for breakfast, although even if he did he would not have met us. SOME of us slept till much later and was thereafter heard saying: “owwww. my head. I need to rehydrate”)

Anyway, to make amends I’m gathering the comments posted by Kah Thiam,  Leong Hin, Kumar, Alan and others here. For the rest of you if you want to make any comments, hit the “comments” link at the bottom of this posting.

In the meantime here’s a photo of us and the Convent girls at New Club. There will be more photos to be posted as I get my act together. Leong Hin and Kumar have just sent me some photos. I’ve just arrived back in Jakarta so over the next few days I’ll post them on this blog.

group-shot2.jpg

  1. kah thiam Says:
    December 11th, 2006 at 7:27 am eTHANKS FOR THE MEMORIES
    on behalf of kok chan,jimmy, param, kee chew, wai ying and guat tin i would like to thank you guys for making the event such a memorable one. actually we the commitee did line up some activities for the night but we could not possibly control such an undisciplined crowd(meself included). but afterall how could we blame ourselves for we have 30 years of catching up to do.it was really great seeing all of you for it truly brought back memories of what we used to be more before we were turned to all the corporate monsters we have become ha ha ha. anyway for those who have taken pictures during the night pls send them either to hock chuan or woon yih. i will contact kok leong later when he has finished processing the dvd which was recorded during the evening. so for those who did not make it this time, there is the gathering at eng choon’s palace(huh) next year and the biggie in bali 3 years down the road. keep this blog alive for it is truly a great way to communicate with each other.
    p/s: sorry peter, aik guan, hock chuan and leong hin. did not join you at ah lan cheah for koay teow the next morning for i only woke up after 9 am.
  2. Alan Leong Says:
    December 11th, 2006 at 7:35 am eHi guys, I’m at home in KL on emcee – bad hangover yesterday coupled with a severe stomach flu. Luckily I had Aly Looi to drive me down to KL last night.
  3. Kana Says:
    December 11th, 2006 at 8:34 am e I too would like to echo the sentiments by Hock Chuan. It was a lovely evening meeting up with many people that I have not met 30 years. Thank you Kok Chan and Jimmy for organising a memorable evening.

32 Responses to “One more time…with feeling”

  1. woonyih said

    Ha ha, you guys are early birds, I woke up at 10am. Choon Wan was already Fook Chooi’s first customer at 7.

    Hock Chuan, you didn’t call me for the 2nd time 😦 but you did say that you’ll be down in KL again soon, right?

  2. woonyih said

    Hey, I thought we gate crashed the TMGS girls’ party or was I that drunk??

  3. Seow Aik Guan said

    IT WAS REALLY GREAT SEEING YOU GUYS AGAIN, especially the ones whom I have not met in 30 years! It brought back a lot of fond memories of our growing-up years, the carefree days, when we were mostly innocent…

    Physically, all of us have changed – 30 years on – some more than others. But age aside, all of you are still very much the same persons I remember you to be. That’s the nicest part.

    Dec 9, 2006 will be a night I shall remember. For this, I must thank all those who were involved in the organising, namely, Kok Chan, Jimmy Gan, Kah Thiam, Param, Schung Rwee, Kee Chiew, Wai Ying and Guat Tin (hope I haven’t missed out anyone). You guys and gals did a fantastic job. Once again, it was great seeing all of you again!

    Sorry Jimmy, for being amongst those who have spoilt your plans for the evening. It was just so many people to catch up with in so little time. I would very much like to see the ppt you have prepared if you could send me a copy. Thanks in advance.

    Kok Chan, you were the one collecting everyone’s contact details. Do pass it on to either Hock Chuan, Woon Yih or Kah Thiam soon so that it can be posted onto this blog. Still a lot to catch-up on.

    Sounds like there were a few casualties from Saturday night and yours truly was no exception. I even missed a breakfast date with Thian Teng at 8 the next morning. [Sorry about that TT]. Fortunately, I was still able to drive back to KL, midday Sunday, with Chung Leong asleep at the back and Hock Chuan trying to keep the conversation going, albeit intermittently.

    I am looking forward to the next reunion and hopefully we can pick-up those who did not make it this time round. In the meantime, I hope to catch up with some of you separately, somewhere…somehow…

  4. Alan Leong said

    Hi Aik Guan,

    I met Thian Teng at the Laksa/Lok-Lok joint near the old Rex Theatre while I was having breakfast at 2 pm, heheheh. Needed something strong tasting & spicy to chase the Kau Si Fatt(Calrsberg in Cantonese), JW & Mr Chivas away from my head & tummy.

    We were also talking about catching up since we live pretty close by – he in Bkt Jalil &, Aly & myself in Puchong. We can organise the next meet at my pad as I’m pretty much a bachelor boy in KL, albeit a very good boy, hehehehe.

  5. Seow Aik Guan said

    Hello Alan,

    Would love to meet up with you guys. Rest of December is probably no good though – family holidays, public holidays, etc. I am also travelling 2nd week of Jan. Good time for me would be mid-Jan onwards & before CNY.

  6. Alan Leong said

    No probs, give me a call when you are available at 012-503 7918. But I’m only available from Mondays to Fridays on most weeks. Gotta go home to Taiping to see the wife & kids on weekends.

  7. kah thiam said

    spoke to jimmy and wai ying yesterday. after the climax of the reunion, we feel rather down at the moment. once again from the organizing committee, we thank all of you from the bottom of our hearts for your presence that night. we did suffer through a lot of blood, sweat and tears in organizing the event but eventually it was all worthwhile thanks to you guys.

  8. Seow Aik Guan said

    Hey you guys(Kah Thiam, Jimmy, Kok Chan, Wai Ying…), you did a wonderful job. The next time I am back in Taiping, I must get together with you lot.

    Alan, I’ll give you a call around mid January and we can gather the Puchong gang.

    Cheers!

  9. Gan Leong Hin said

    KahThiam,
    I think what you, Jimmy and WaiYing are feeling is frequently called the post-Olympic syndrome.

    I had a lot of fun and thank you everyone for attending esp the organising committee for all their efforts. Thank you for the memories.

  10. Wai Ying said

    Hi guys,

    Kah thiam still hasn’t got over his hangover when he posted his comments on the 13th, Please excuse him.For me I feel great – no more sleepless nights and meetings until the wee hours of the morning. I’ve got the pre-Olympic syndrome not the post one.Get to keep a lot of wonderful memories though that could last me for many,many years to come …when I sit at the verandah or balcony and think back of what happened on the 9 Dec. 2006…..Priceless memories…. Thanks everybody for the memories too!

  11. Wai Ying said

    tambahan to my script.hey, i am still a novice at blogging! took me 2 tries to deliver the message n i have to retype again n again.
    ok, here is the tambahan …..
    when I sit at the verandah or balcony and watch the sun setting and think back of what happened on the 9th Dec.2006……

    OK – passed

  12. unspun said

    Wai Ying: Effusiveness of precious memories+ the request to censor some photos = Hmmm. what ACTUALLY happened that night?

  13. Kok Leong said

    The Video that I’ve recorded will be out in the mail for those who have given me their name cards and for those who have’nt can contact me through my e-mail or Jimmy Gan. I’ll be giving him in VCDs & DVDs for those who would like to collect directly from him.

  14. kah thiam said

    thanks kok leong,
    i will be back in taiping on the 31 Dec. i will probably go to your shop to collect the dvd.

  15. kah thiam said

    yeah wai ying. you sum it up rather well and probably echo most of our feelings. exception will probably be those guys who requested for censorship of photographs. now why is it so. hock chuan maybe you could show us the photos again and let the censorship board decides.

  16. kah thiam said

    i will be in kl between 21 to 25 Dec. any mini reunions/gatherings/parties which i could gatecrash.

  17. Alan Leong said

    I’ll probably be home in Taiping from Dec 23 – 27 & I’ll collect the vcd/dvd from Kok Leong or if possible, Kok Chan.

    Wai Ying passed out huh – this is making me very curious as to what can possibly happen at the event other than a bunch of aging men behaving like adolescents. Oh, I forgot Wai Ying is only one of 2 that are of a different gender.

  18. Seow Aik Guan said

    Made a quick stopover in Taiping today on my way back to KL after a morning meeting in Penang; had a short but most delightful OJ* party with some of the organisers of the now famous Dec 9 Reunion.

    From the stories they were sharing with each other and with me, it become more apparent the amount of time and energy that was put into the whole affair – especially by Jimmy and also Wai Ying. You guys (and gal) deserve a big pat on the back. In the meantime, Kok Leong is digitizing ‘memories’ of the Dec 9 evening for a pre-Christmas release. I hear it will be an uncensored version incorporating Jimmy’s masterpiece – the one that missed the Dec 9 screening. And back at the Meta Pharm, Kok Chan is in the final stages of completing THE directory – with just a few more blanks to fill.

    Kah Thiam, we will be crossing path on the dates you mentioned. I will be in Pangkor on the 21st and then to Taiping on the 24th. MIGHT try to join you guys on the 29th in Taiping if I can.

    Wai Ying, when did you pass out? Must have been the very strong Chinese tea you were drinking the whole night. Next time, just stay with the whiskey.

    Jimmy gave a very sad account of the state of affairs at St. George’s Primary. Perhaps you should share the story with the rest of us, Jimmy. Can it be saved?

    Oh btw, OJ stands for orange juice.
    Cheers!

  19. Seow Aik Guan said

    Ah Chuan, something’s wrong with your blog’s clock. It is now 1.03am.

  20. Jo said

    Breaking news !!!
    The movie soon to be entitled ” The Great Reunion ” was rated 5X by our Bro.Director ( I’ll explain later why I call him that ), aka Jimmy . WHY 5X? You ask . That’s because he has seen it 5 times before any of us and it was the uncensored and unedited version too.I guess all movie directors get this kind of priviledge. The movie has been rumoured to be better than the “Titanic” too otherwise why would he watched it 5 times!All Thanks to Kok Leong our producer and cameraman who really took the time off to record the movie, even to the extent of pushing off his clients and telling them he has to make it to this once in 30 years chance of a lifetime reunion!What Sacrifices !That’s why it is called THE GREAT REUNION! Expect the oscar bearers to come knocking at your door soon,Kok leong. So guys, hurry, make your bookings before stock runs out! Vroommmm!!! (Me driving off to get the first copy !)

  21. Gan Leong Hin said

    Can’t wait to see this x-rated movie…….. recommendation from one of only two actresses in the movie!

    Jimmy, is this better than the other x-rated movie you were telling me about the other day?! I hope you will send me the uncensored Director’s cut.

  22. Alan Leong said

    Huh, this is better than Paris Hilton’s BJ – Oops, I had meant drinking OJ! Damn, I’m heading straight to see either Kok Chan or Kok leong to get my copy when I head back home this Saturday.

    Yeah, Wai Ying has gotten me all roused up to see what in the world requires censorship at a “G” rated event.

    Aik Guan, give me a buzz when you’re in Taiping. Otherwise, you can catch me at Peng Aun (at the corner of the 13 shophouses opposite HSBC) having drinks after 10 pm.

  23. Kok Leong said

    Jimmy rang me up at noon and said the movie I gave him a couple of days back need to be edited again. I hope this would be the final one for everyone who’ve e-mail me were requesting to have a copy of it.
    This morning Seng Chuan drop in my shop and collected his copy, the same one I gave Jimmy. Well, let me called it the 1st version. I’ll be putting the digital pictures that Wai Ying took and for those who’ve taken some digital pictures with their camera and would like to be included in the movie please e-mail me at comput95@streamyx.com or comnixx@myway.com. Please hurry, before Jimmy gives me the final go ahead. After that, I’ll encoded it in MPEG4 and Real Player format for Hock Chuan to host it up in the blog. Sorry for the delay.

  24. Kok Leong said

    Actually, I’ve encoded the 1st version but since Jimmy says it need some minor editing I’ll encode the final version before I give it to Hock Chuan for hosting in the blog.

  25. Jo said

    Leong Hin,
    Be careful of what you fling on the blog because just like a boomerang it will come back to hit you.In case you haven’t seen it( VCD) yet, you were the leading actor!What happened to you guys, forgotten your 5X tables.5x, Five Times, 5X not 5 ‘X’ or SX. Must be the side effects of old age or your eyes playing tricks on you.If anyone wants to pursue this matter further it only proves you have advanced further than your age.OK, the case is closed. Next topic please!

  26. Jo said

    To end with a cheerful note, ( PEACE guys not war!)
    Let me be the first to wish you guys A HAPPY CHRISTMAS AND A MERRY NEW YEAR . I know, I know. I prefer it this way rather than a merry Christmas and a happy new year!Sounds different, sounds new, sounds special.Cheers! OJ ( Don’t get wrong ideas again – it officially means ORANGE JUICE )

  27. Gan Leong Hin said

    Boomerangs I can handle, being in Ozzie land for so long. But hey, it’s Alan who should win the oscar – he and his OJ and blue jeans.

  28. kah thiam said

    what is happening guys. i have been away for 7 days and you are all talking about the uncensored movie, edited one and what else. kok leong, i will prefer the unsensored one. i will be back in taiping on 31 Dec. how do i collect the dvd from you. who will be in taiping on that date. maybe we could meet and discuss the unrated movie further. by the way, who is jo.

  29. Kok Leong said

    I’m beginning to have photos of the dinner coming in steadily & I’ll wait a few more days for you guys before I put it in my 2nd version due to be out soon. It’s wonderful, knowing that allot of you guys are looking into this blog even though you have not posted any comments and I’ve received e-mails from non-participants on that night and wanting to have a VCD on who’s who attended the reunion dinner. Whoa!!!, I’m really surprised by the responds I had in my e-mails, for some I’ve totally forgotten. I…I just don’t know what to say. Hock Chuan, you’ve done a great job by having this blog up for everyone. Without it, I don’t think the news will get any further to reunite the Georgians ’76 after a laps of 30 years. Thanks Hock Chuan.

  30. kah thiam said

    great to hear that those who did not attend the reunion wanted copies of the vcds. so you guys did not know what you have missed.

  31. kah thiam said

    sitting outside svenson ice cream parlour at auto city right now. like to extend my best wishes to all of you for a happy and prosperous new year ahead(only about 75 minutes away). by the way next year is our year ie the year of the piggy. so let us see what lies ahead for all of us.

  32. Seow Aik Guan said

    Happy New Year Guys!…and Gals! May this new year be your brightest yet and may you and your family enjoy the best of health, happiness and prosperity.

    You are right, Kah Thiam. Next (Chinese) year is the Pig’s year…our year (for most of us anyway). Maybe a simple piggy gathering???

Leave a comment